News from WFCC


Call for nominations for TWAS Awards & TWAS-named Awards in Agricultural Sciences and Biology

  • The 2024 TWAS AWARDS. Deadline to submit nominations: 31 March 2022

AWARDS TO WOMEN SCIENTISTS.  Deadline to submit nominations: 20 April 2022

  • The 2022 TWAS-Abdool Karim Award:
  • The 2022 TWAS-Fayzah M. Al-Kharafi Award:

*Nominations from jury members serving in the relevant Committee will not be considered. Members of TWAS are not eligible.


Nominations can only be submitted electronically through the on-line platform by clicking on the:

 “New Nomination” button, to start a new nomination;
 “Resume”button, to resume working on saved nominations.

These buttons are available from dedicated web pages relevant to each TWAS award, please refer to the below links. 
Counting on your collaboration, we send you our best regards.

TWAS Awards Secretariat

Distinguished member of TWAS,


I am pleased to bring to your attention that the call for nominations for the TWAS Awards is currently open.
The Academy provides nine 'TWAS Awards' to individual scientists from developing countries in recognition of an outstanding contribution to scientific knowledge in a field of science listed below, and/or to the application of science and technology to sustainable development.

These awards recognize achievements in: Agricultural Sciences; Biology;  Chemistry;  Earth, Astronomy and Space Sciences;  Engineering Sciences;  Mathematics;  Medical Sciences; Physics and Social Sciences (excluding Economic Sciences).

The outstanding contribution may be defined in relation to existing opportunities and realistic possibilities available to the candidate. This applies particularly to candidates from scientifically disadvantaged countries.

Each award is worth USD 10,000.
On behalf of the TWAS Council, I invite you to nominate qualified candidates to be considered for these awards.

Please especially consider women scientists and candidates from scientifically lagging countries.

Member of TWAS are not eligible. Nominations from jury members will not be considered.

The 2022 TWAS-Abdool Karim Award: This annual award is named after the distinguished TWAS Fellow Professor Quarraisha Abdool Karim.

 The 2022 TWAS-Fayzah M. Al-Kharafi Award: This annual award, named after the distinguished TWAS Fellow Professor Fayzah M. Al-Kharafi, rotates among various fields of science.